Real Talk w/ Illis It

illicit5

WHERE ARE YOU FROM AND WHOM IN THE SCENE DO YOU CONSIDER TIGHT FAM?
I’m from Kalihi. I guess I consider most of the scene a sort of extended family to me. But naturally I’m a lot more tight  with the members of Super Groupers (Navid Najafi, Scott Ohtoro, and Aksent) and Bombz because I knew him prior to my introduction to the scene. We stirred up a bit of trouble in Kalihi for a while and it brought us closer through the tough times we consequently faced.

BEST ADVICE A HIP HOP HOMEY EVER GAVE YOU?
The best advice I got was from JoeKerr. He basically referenced a race horse and how when they race, they have their peripherals blocked and can only see straight ahead. He told me to adopt that technique into my work ethic with music, basically saying don’t worry what everyone else is doing, do you!

WHAT DO YOU STAND FOR AS AN INDIVIDUAL, AND WHAT DON’T YOU STAND FOR AS IT  PERTAINS TO MAINSTREAM VIEWPOINTS AND LIFESTYLE; AKA  A SHEEP’S MENTALITY?
I stand for myself. And I don’t mean that in a selfish way. I stand for being true to myself with the  hopes it’ll rub off on those around me and/or attract like-minded individuals. It’s hard to sum up all the things  I stand for specifically because I try  to stay open minded with things, which automatically subjects my beliefs to change, therefore changing my cause based on the  situation. But I’ll always try to stand for what I feel is right.
There’s nothing wrong with tryna pay your bills and eat off music but fuck throwing up money like it’s cool in a video and talking like it doesn’t mean shit to you when people are starving all around you. Fuck talking about some hood you grew up in and got out of just to leave it in the same condition you left it in, when you make it better for the people still there! Last but definitely not least, fuck destroying a culture designed to uplift people and using it to further oppress them just for you to be well off! So I guess with that you could say I stand for a “fuck the mainstream” mentality too.

HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE THE “EGOTISTICAL NEW EMCEE,” AND WHY YOU ARE THE  OPPOSITE; AS WELL AS WHY IT SUCKS  FOR THE CULTURE?
 
Haha! Some people are gonna get upset a bit. You know those rappers that come out of the wood works, talking all highly of themselves because a couple friends told them they were the shit and they’re gonna blow up? The ones that disrespect others around them cause they truly believe they’re above everyone else? The one’s that look out for themselves and only care about the money and fame and ine times out ten don’t know shit about hip hop as a culture or where it came from? The ones that blame everyone and everything but themselves for their live performances being shit? The ones that have been  rapping a month and think they know all there is to know about music and the industry but yet the same ones constantly looking for validation of their “dopeness” among their peers? Yeah those motherfuckers!

illicit6

Leave a Reply

