Real Talk w/ @DeejayTechnique

redbulltech

What is the last, BEST piece of advice a DJ has given you that has had an effect on your style and approach?

The Last, Best Piece Of Advice I Received Was A Couple Years Back From Dustin Blair aka Numakon...Who Is One Half Of The Dubstep Duo, Total Recall. He Told Me, If You Wanna Further Your Career As A DJ, You Need To Step It Up As A Producer And Get Your Name And Product Out As Much As Possible. Bottom Line Is, The Guys Getting Booked Now Are Producers And Most Aren't Even DJ's...So They're Forced To!

This Hasn't Effected My Style, But My Approach Has Changed To Where Production Has Become More Of The Priority. With DJ's Like Nightmarcher, Packo, MNDGM, CTLGD, Mike D, Elite, Osna, Kaii, Russoul, Soundsex, Etc. Pushing Forward In The Production Realm And Staying Consistent...It Gives Me Something To Strive For!

Lately, you've been getting down with Trap Music, when did you first hear the genre and what do you like most about the sound?

I First Heard The New Hybrid Genre In The Beginning Of The Year When I Stumbled Across Flosstradmus' "Total Recall" EP. I Didn't Think Much Of It As I Was Still On The Dubstep/Drumstep/Moombahton/Moombahcore Tip, But I Thought It Was Cool How They Incorporated Dirty South Hip-Hop Drum Patterns Into Their Productions. Other Tracks Made Their Way Into My Inbox, But It Wasn't Until I Heard Baauer's "Harlem Shake" Where I Was Just Blown Away!!! It Had The Same Feel As Dubstep Without All The Crazy Heavy Bassline Wobbles And Punchy Kicks & Snares...It Was Refreshing! Now I Was On A Mission To Find More Tracks Like This And Start Rinsing Them!!!

How was your 2012 on the DJ tip, did you meet any of your goals? With less than a month to go how do you tend to close out the year?

2012 Was Off To A Good Start As I Won The Mai Tai Bar DJ Spin-Off For The Second Year In A Row. I Picked Up A Residency At Next Door And Was Fortunate To Open For Many Hip-Hop Legends Like Dead Prez, Exile, The Beatnuts, Jean Grae, Mr. Len, DJ Shortkut & Jeru The Damaja Whom I Got The Opportunity To Perform With. Took The Stage With My Group The Angry Locals At Various Hawa'i'i Hip-Hop Shows And Spun At A Few Of Them. On The EDM Tip, I Got To Spin At Some Great Parties And Built Connections With A Few DJ/Producers That Flew Into Town.

As Far As Goals, I Didn't Really Have Any Besides Putting Out Some Original Production Work...Didn't Meet That One, But I Managed To Finish Some Bootleg Remixes And Did Some Scratches On Tracks For Osna, JCrooks, Mic3 & BuenoBeats. Gonna Close Out The Year By Just Doing My Thing And Hopefully Find The Time To Release Some Stuff Before It Ends!!!


Current Residencies?

Mondays - Madhouse Mondays @ Aiea Bowl

Tuesdays - Show You Tuesdays @Nancy's Kitchen (Rotating)

Wednesdays - Lite The Roof On Fire @ Dave & Buster's (Rotating)

Thursdays - Thirsty Thursdays @ Zanzabar

Fridays - Spectrum @ Cafe Sarang (Rotating), Fridays @ The Hideaway Club (Rotating), Crush @ Bar 35 (Every 4th), SubMana & Friends @ Asylum Afterhours (Every 4th)

Sundays - Sundays @ Mai Tai Bar (Rotating)

Upcoming special events?

Hot Import Nights @ Neal Blaisdell Center (Saturday, December 8th)

3rd Annual New Years Eve PARTY OF THE YEAR @ Kaka'ako Waterfront Park (Monday, December 31st)

Waikiki Get Down (Saturday, January 19th)

Electrik Frydaze @ Hilo Town Tavern (Friday, January 25th)

When was the last time you had an "Holy Shit. That was Dope. I'm surprised I just did that" moment?

As A Whole, I'd Have To Say Entering The "Red Bull Thre3style" Hawai'i Qualifier! It Was The Biggest Competition To Hit Our Shores Since The DMC/ITF Battles And I Never Thought I'd Enter Something Like That. I Didn't Place, But Holy Shit The Experience Was Dope And I Was Surprised That I Did That!!! It Was Also The First Time I Got To Go Head To Head With The Nocturnal Sound Krew Homies Who Are No Strangers To The Battle Realm Being 2x ITF World Team Champions!!! Hands Down The Best Experience For Me As A DJ This Year!!!

Leave a Reply

