Real Talk w/ Mr. Nick

Photobucket


Where does your passion for music come from?

I really can't pinpoint a moment where I fell In love with music. I do remember the moment I fell in love with Jazz. In High School, my english teacher made me a tape of Charles Mingus' Blues and Roots. When I heard the 1st song, called Wednesday Night Prayer Session, I was hooked, just hooked! Like on Crack hooked!

If you had to relate your music to a flavor of ice cream, your favorite dish, or a beverage from Starbucks which would you choose?

Gosh that's a tough one. I'd have to say (and I'm ripping off Sarah Vowell here), that my music is a little like a plate lunch, a mixed plate to be exact. I've never been one to just get one entrée, I always order a mixture of different things. So in my DJ Sets, you have a mixture of different styles, drawing from places where people came together and mixed together.

Ok, now describe your music selection style in the form you chose.

My musical style is really all over the place, drawing you back to the food question, I always put it like, why would you want to eat the same thing over and over again, the same goes for music. Verity keeps our ears hungry for more, and that's how my DJ sets are, eclectic samplers of tasty tidbits from all over.

How would you respond to a critic calling you an overrated dj?

Somehow, I don't think that would happen in this town, I'm really not that popular. But DJing is like any kind of performance art, you really can't be there to please everyone, and I'm not trying to please everyone, in fact, I've probably pissed a lot of people off by refusing to play their requests, and that sits fine with me. But, on the flip-side, I do think I have the most wonderful audience. I think I have an audience of people that are opened minded, that don;t mind being challenged, and don't mind going out to a club and hearing something that they may not know.

In the big picture it really doesnt matter but now, how would you respond to the praise of being labeled underrated?

One again, somehow, I don't see that happening.

Talk about you're involvement at KTUH as well as how the station has grown and how you've grown as a result.

I've been with KTUH for about 7 years now, doing almost every job there was to offer there, currently I am the training director of the station, and teach all of their classes which is a huge amount of responsibility looking after the future DJs of out station. The station has in so many ways become my family, and my support structure. I've grown up within it, and it's completely built me as a Dj as well as a listener, being constantly turned onto different kinds of music. It's also challenged me, as good art should do. Challenged me to try out different form of music and concepts, ones that I never though I'd like, I now listen to regularly. It's reinforces the idea that audiences ears need to, and should be challenged. I can't imagine listening to the same songs and formulas over and over again, both on radio and in clubs, and it's that thrill of discovery and stepping out of our comfort zone that makes musical journeys and exploration exhilarating.

Leave a Reply

