Real Talk w/ DJ Fathom

Photobucket

What gets you fired up about DJing, producing and the scene here?

Inspiration is everything. My inspiration for Djing and producing comes from the music and the fans. For Djing, the energy and the reaction from the crowd is really a huge part of it. Most people don't realize how the energy from the crown directly effects that of the DJ, and vice versa. It works both ways. I get a huge adrenaline rush when I drop a sick baseline and the people scream and throw their arms up in the air. It truly is a natural high. As for producing music, I feel like it is essential for the growth of any DJ. At some point, it has to go beyond just playing music. Creating music is a completely different craft. But when you do them together, it takes you to a whole new level. I have really been putting a lot of time and energy into the production side of things. I have completed multiple original productions this year. Two of the tracks that I released on Waska records reached #1 on the top ten best seller list. And it feels good to know that people are responding to your music.


What and who keep you inspired and on your toes and the desire high on improving?

The desire to be the best has always a driving force behind what I do. There is always room for improvement, no matter how talented you are. And that's something that is universal. I am continuously inspired by the amazing world of music that we live in. There are so many talented DJ's and producers out there, and the quality of music keeps getting better and better. I have had a chance to play alongside some of the biggest names in the industry. And that alone is really a big part of what inspires me to keep improving. But to be perfectly honest, a lot of my own inspiration comes from some of my closest friends and family right here in the islands. There is a lot of talent right here in Oahu. And the bar keeps getting raised higher and higher everyday.


Experiences outside of Hawaii can only help a DJ evolve and better their craft. Can you remember any shows or experiences outside of Hawaii that helped build your perspective on music?

There are many experiences outside of Hawaii that have had a huge influence on my DJ career. Burning man has had a major impact on my life and my inspiration as a DJ. The energy out there in the desert is crazy! Unlike anything you will ever experience. But besides that, there is one exact moment that I can remember. It was my first big rave that I was DJing in Arizona way back in the day. I was still very new at the craft, and I was very nervous because there were a lot of people on the dance floor. At the very end of my set, I played a new track that I really liked, but wasn't so sure if the crowd would feel the same way. But when I let the beat drop, everyone began jumping up and down and started cheering. The dance floor was in a frenzy and that was all I needed to feel the rush. That was really the pivotal moment when I realized this is what I should be doing. To this day, I still have that record on vinyl.

Photobucket


Talk about your b-boy roots and how you first got into electronic music?

I've been a B-Boy since before I even started Djing. In fact, break dancing is really what first got me into electronic music. I distinctly remember going to my very first underground rave in Arizona with my brother. I was strictly a B-boy and just wanted to dance. But by the end of the night, I was completely inspired by the electronic music. It not only influenced my dance, but also my outlook on music in general. After that, My brother Ernie (A.K.A. Bernies Diction) bought a pair of turntables and a mixer, and I got a drum machine. The rest is history. To be perfectly honest, If it wasn't for my brother, I might not have ever started DJing. He is really one of the biggest factors in my life that pushed me to do what I do. And that is something I won't ever forget.

Support is crucial to one's growth, would you agree? Talk about the support you get and why it is advantage?

The people in my life are amazing. I have so many awesome friends and family and a lot of positive support and feedback. That is one aspect of this lifestyle that keeps me going. Without support from the fans, it wouldn't be the same. I strive to keep moving forward in this industry. The sky is the limit, as long as you are hungry enough to reach the top.

Leave a Reply

