Real Talk w/ DJ Seeko

Photobucket

Catch us up on what you've been doing as of late?

I took a hiatus from djing in the public and have been a "bedroom dj," trying to refocus my kraft because life was taking me down to different paths (marriage, family, work). I never lost my passion for djing, and realized that I really enjoyed watching others dig the music I love. Now I want to re-establish myself in the scene. I been fortunate enough to hook up and be a dj for my long time homies (SPELLS) who's bringing some truly awesome talents to the island this year (Ras G June 8th @ Fresh Cafe). I will also be playing at Slow and Low (Dj Monkey and Toki's party) in July. In the near future, look out for my mix on Space & Sound's podcast!

Djing is a life long passion for most, I know you may not spin as much as you did before. How do you keep your skills sharp and knowledge of music up to a standard you are comfortable with?

We are so fortunate that technology today gives us immediate access to so much music that is out there. I love searching for new music online just as much as I use to love finding that one "golden" single while digging for vinyl at a record shop. It's definitely cheaper! Plus, it doesn't hurt to be surrounded by music nerds who is constantly turning me on to new music.

Spinning is also an outlet for me. Even practicing for little before I go to work can start my day off right. As for keeping my skills sharp, beatmatching is something that comes natural after years of djing. It's knowing your music that will make or break your set. I may not be the most "technical" dj, but I definitely know how to create a wicked set!

Most DJs I encounter like a wide range of genres, what genres do you dig the most?

This is a hard question! What I like about where music has evolved to is the fact that tracks today are inspired by a "mish mash" of genres. But if you put a gun to my head, I guess I'd have to say that I've always loved hip hop, drum & bass, downtempo, and future bass (which is my current genre of interest).

Photobucket


What is the story behind how you became known as DJ Seeko?

Unfortunately, my story is not that cool. All djs (pre-serato) were always digging, searching and SEEKing for vinyl at the time so I just thought of putting an “O” at the end and I thought it sounded cool. I once borrowed a 100 record travel crate form ESKAE years ago and brought it all the way to UK & Amsterdam on vacation and filled it up plus two records bags. Fond memories but I’ll never do that again! It felt like it weighed 200 pounds. haha!

Has “your sound” changed much over the years?

I would say that it probably has because the older I get, the more open I am to listening and playing different genre of music. When you hear my mixes or sets, I make attempts at showcasing the different tracks & genres that I love, versus sticking with one particular genre of music. Some people may not get it but it makes perfect sense in my head.

In your opinion, how has music allowed the DJ to evolve at his craft and how has music “held back” the DJ?

I’m not sure how to answer this, but I’ll try to take a stab at it. Depending on the genre of music you play, you have to respect the artist’s track while “play” and be a musician in your own right. It’s a balance between when do you cut off a track to mix in a new one without taking away what makes each track great. With the eclectic nature of music these days, as a dj, you have to be aware of what journey you’re trying to take your audience to (especially, since you can practically jump from one genre to another with each track and sound quite chaotic).

Leave a Reply

