Real Talk w/ @DJDirtySecret >>Part One of Three

Photobucket

When did you aspire to become a DJ?/ Where does your passion for the music come from?
I first aspired to be a dj about 4 years ago. After attending numerous music festivals in Southern California, I fell in love with electronic dance music and visualized myself on stage with the crowd jumping up and down to my music. My passion to become an EDM dj was kept a secret for a few years until I had the courage to chase my dreams! I love house, electro, and progressive house music because it makes me feel happy! The music takes away negativity and lets me believe anything is possible.


Venues and parties you've played so far?

In Hawaii I’ve played at Powerhouse at Tsukiji Nightclub, Space at Cafe Sarang, House of Horror, Tap That Thursdays and Blackout events at Soho, Phonetic and Legato at Lotus, Naughty List, Dance or Die at Nextdoor, Silky Love, Indigo for First Fridays, The Standard Nightclub, WekFest car show, and Summer and Haunted Wonderland.

Current residencies/Upcoming gigs?

Please check me out at Indigo Restaurant and Lounge April 6 at 11pm for First Friday Downtown! I’m on rotation at Phonetic at Lotus and I’m looking forward to Digital Island on August 10 and 11. You can always find information about my upcoming gigs thru my Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/dirtysecretmusic !


Your favorite party to date?

My favorite event has been Pure Coalition’s Powerhouse at Tsukiji Nightclub because it was one of my first events since moving back to Hawaii last summer. My sister and all of my friends came out to support and see me spin for the first time! The club was packed and I could feel the crowd’s energy and love --- it was amazing! I met so many people in the Hawaii EDM scene, made new friends, and will never forget that night!

Would you say your passion for the music is the same as your passion for killing it on the decks?

Yes, the two go together -- I’m very passionate about EDM and my dj career and I always strive to perform my very best at every gig!


Do you think you've made a strong name for yourself in Honolulu already? What do you credit for the level you HAVE achieved thus far?

Yes. I’m driven by my love for EDM and I have to thank and credit all of the Hawaii promoters who gave me a chance and believed in me! My friends and fans who continue to support me at my events make it all worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

