Real Talk w/ Marques Wyatt #Part1

Photobucket
Talk about how important a "fan base" is to not only the growth of a genre of music but the sustainability of the "core sound?"
The fan base is the most crucial component to the growth of any genre of music. House music in particular because without the foundation of support and dedication, the music would not reach the very channels where it's impact is most felt, dancefloors.

What have been the most notable changes in the house music genre in the last 10 years?

The most notable changes in house music has been how the internet has impacted it's growth and expanded it's reach. It has grown and morphed into many different sub genres and finally penetrated the US where it now continues to thrive.


I would say the soulful house sound you are often linked to is very much the "root" of the sound. Would you agree? If so, how important is it to stay as close to the "root" as possible?

Perhaps, I am known for my soulful sound. However, in the grand scheme, it's just important that the music I choose has a soul about it, no matter what the genre or tempo. I am embracing many different sounds these days as there is a crop of innovative producers that have added a twist and caught my attention. I choose to step over the pigeon hole of "soulful house dj" and be put in that limited container. At the same time remain true to my own artistic expression, whatever it may be.

When are you at your creative best?

I'm at my creative best when I play from the heart and not the head.


COME BACK TOMORROW TO FIND OUT WHY HE LOVES THE VALLEY ISLE SO MUCH, WHY HE'D RATHER SHY AWAY FROM PREDICTING THE FUTURE OF HOUSE MUSIC AND HIS PERSONAL WORDS OF WISDOM TO THE REAL DIEHARD DANCE MUSIC ENTHUSIASTS OF THE WORLD.

Leave a Reply

