Real Talk w/ Goapele

Photobucket

How has motherhood enhanced your outlook on life, the quality of your life and your music?

Its hard to put into words. Motherhood has been incredibly empowering & humbling for me. Its helped me grow. In life I am more present. In music, I 'go for it' more ,and I'm not as timid as I used to be.

What would you say is the biggest growth fans will notice right off the bat when they hear your current album? Why was it finally time to let your guard down? What aspects or songs are you most proud of?

Well, I finally feel like a grown woman now , and I express that in my music. I shared a different side of myself on this new album. I have always shared a lot of myself lyrically, but this time around, with
the "Break Of Dawn" album, I let the raw emotions and melodies guide me. I want people to FEEL the music most of all.

Would you say the added element of vulnerability and shedding of layers on "Break of Dawn" was a new experience for you or more so a side that you just never wanted to reveal until now?

As a singer/songwriter, I have always felt vulnerable when I'm recording my music- so that part isn't new. But I never wanted to do, in your face sexy songs, although like most women , I do have a sensual side. So I waited to share that side of myself until now, because I wanted it to be on my terms and authentic for me, not me surrendering to sexual exploitation in entertainment just cause it might sell. On songs like "Play", and "Milk & Honey", I just had fun and it felt natural.

Inspirations come from the world and environment around us, you had the culture rich Bay Area to draw many inspirations from, what Bay Area inspirations growing up do you credit most for the direction and style of your music?

There are so many artist that have influenced me, but if I was just keeping it "Bay Area", I would say: Tony Toni Tone, Digital Underground, En Vogue, Zulu Spear,... The Bay Area has such a broad spectrum of cultures and perspectives, but it is a place where I have experienced people coming together in efforts to create positive change in the world, and Artists, musicians, & producers like : Bed Rock, Electric Thunderbolt, Mike Tiger, Bobby Ozunza, Hieroglyphics,
Zion I, & more, come together and create a truly unique flavor musically .

Soul music doesn't necessary need to be accepted by the mainstream by any means but does reaching mainstream listeners matter to you when it comes down to the audience your creative and musical can potential reach?

I want to do the music that I love, and I hope to touch as many people in this world that I can.

Can you talk about the song writing process you go through? What sort of life experiences "fuel" or "inspire" the creativity and emotion to come out
in your music?

Love, life and death, inspired "Break of Dawn". Some of the songs are about just being in the moment and enjoying life, some are about healing and perseverance, some come from indulging in the senses. But mainly music is my creative outlet where my raw emotions, and fantasy world collide , and I try to stay open to how ever it comes together.

Photobucket

2011 is almost a wrap, what would you say your highlights of the year are, musically, personally and creatively?

This years high lights for me were; getting to see my album “Break of Dawn” finished and in the hands of my fans and family. Also I got to do a cameo performance scene for an upcoming movie “Sparkle”, and acting has been a long time dream of mine. Honestly 2011 has been a very full year for me, and I’m happy I get a chance to just chill here in Hawaii for a hot minute before this year is over!

Final words?

See you at “Next Door”. Thanx for the support! Please
go to Goapele.com to keep up on tours, music & more.

Leave a Reply

